Home Alaska Native Policy Center Leadership Development Community Investments
  About Us  |  Census Information Center  |  Community Spotlight  |  Donate  |  Library  |  Links  |  Newsroom  |  Opportunities

Celebrating 25 Years… Wisdom from Our Elders, Spirit of Our Youth

21_firstalaskans-188First Alaskans Institute celebrated Alaska Native intellect and encouraged young people and Elders during the 25th Anniversary of First Alaskans Institute Elders & Youth Conference held Oct. 20-21, 2008, in Anchorage. The conference stimulated dialogue between young people and Elders and encouraged them to maintain traditional Native values and practices while thriving in the modern world.

Keynote Speakers
Della Cheney
Roberta “Bobbi” Quintavell
Panel moderator Valerie Davidson and panelists Jana Turvey and Lexy Staheli
Vincent Gregory
Dr. Walter Soboleff

Registered Participants 
The total number of registrants was 1,116 participants. There was 353 youth registrants, 525 Elder registrants, 157 chaperones, and 81 Non-Participants/Observers registered.

Exhibitor Information
Alaska Native Professional Association (ANPA) and First Alaskans Institute would like to thank the 79 participating non-profit and profit organizations for making the 2008 Expo a sucess. The Elders & Youth Services/ Business Expo was open to the participants of the First Alaskans Elders & Youth Conference, as well as to the public. The Expo set-up allowed for a hospitable atmosphere while providing networking opportunities and organizational promotion.

The 2008 Elders & Youth Council members planning this year’s conference include:

Elders: Dorothy Cook (CIRI), Roy Tansey Sr. (Ahtna), Vince Tutiakoff, Sr. (Aleut), Rex Okakok, Sr. (ASRC), Daniel Karmun Sr. (Bering Straits), Anecia Kritz (Bristol Bay), Bob Aloysius (Calista), Don Kompkoff (Chugach), Dee Olin (Doyon), Nick Alokli (Koniag), Willie Goodwin Jr. (NANA), Florence Sheakley (Sealaska), George Samuel (13th Region)

Youth: Steven Holley (CIRI), Douglas Rock (Ahtna), Delores Gregory (Aleut), Selma Khan (ASRC), Vanessa Tahbone (Bering Straits), Sheryl Wassillie (Bristol Bay), Dustin Evon (Calista), Kelly Barker (Chugach), Clara Perdue (Doyon), Desiree Heglin (Koniag), Lexy Staheli (NANA), Krista Lamp (Sealaska)

A special thank you to our Conference Planning Committee:

James LaBelle, George Charles, Barbara Fleek, Shirley Tuzroyluke, Lena Hoffman, Steven Holley, Richard Perry, Chelsea Royal, and Stephanie Thompson.

Thank you to our major contributors!

Download Publications

(1053 KB)
2008 Final Conference Report
Description: 2008 Final Elders & Youth Conference Report.
NOTE: Many of the documents are in PDF format and require Adobe Acrobat Reader for viewing. Acrobat Reader software may be downloaded for free from Adobe Systems, Inc.