Home Alaska Native Policy Center Leadership Development Community Investments
  About Us  |  Census Information Center  |  Community Spotlight  |  Donate  |  Library  |  Links  |  Newsroom  |  Opportunities



We are excited to announce that our 11th Annual Howard Rock & Ted Stevens Smokehouse Gala will be hosted as a hybrid in-person and virtual event this year! Funds raised during our highly anticipated event make an immediate difference in the lives of youth, Elders and our communities, and provide opportunities to spotlight and uplift our Native cultures and artists.

Gala attendees often tell us that the items in our silent auction are world-class due to the phenomenal artists and cultures represented, and the love of our peoples that sets the stage for an exciting auction! Through the direct support we receive from our incredible Alaska Native artists and organizations across the state, this auction showcases the ingenuity and creativity of our amazing artists. The in-person auction reaches well over 500 people and the virtual part of the auction reaches globally! Again, without you, this fundraiser and the quality of it would not be possible. Tsíná’ęę for your consideration of this request for donations and your support of our work!


We are seeking donations of art, Native clothing or attire, jewelry/accessories, gift baskets, experiences, excursions, performances, events, gift certificates, or other Native made items for the silent auction or to be used as raffle prizes. This is not only great exposure and market reach for your artwork, but also across social media platforms. You as the donor will also have the option to give 100% of your donation’s final auction price to First Alaskans or receive a percentage of the final auction price. The hybrid auction approach will also include expanded artist bios, descriptions, and links to purchase more of your work. Certain levels of donations may also include further value back to the artist, such as an artist booth at the upcoming Elders & Youth Conference in Anchorage and small ad space highlighting your work in our First Alaskans Magazine. To donate please fill out the donation form at the link below. If you have more than one item to donate, please fill out a separate donation entry for each item.

Bidding is open for the silent auction!


Buy some raffle tickets online! These raffles are part of our 2022 11th Annual Howard Rock & Ted Stevens Smokehouse Gala events. By participating in these raffle you are helping to support the work we do. We hope you join us as we celebrate Native Heritage Month, honor and uplift our peoples and artists, and raise funds to continue to do our work. All proceeds go towards advancing Alaska Native ways of life, ensuring Alaska Native peoples are involved in decision-making at all levels, and cultivating our leadership responsibility from birth to Ancestor. 

We have the 50/50 raffle and tickets are 1 for $25 or 5 for $100. This raffle is open Friday, November 11th and will close 12pm on Thursday, November 17, 2022. Winner gets half of the funds raised in this raffle, splitting the pot with First Alaskans Institute. Winners will be announced via social media and livestream that evening at 5.30 pm.

We also have a Le’t’ (Box in Eyak) Squares Raffle – Only 100 tickets for sale at $25 per ticket for a chance to win one of 7 prizes, including:

Purchase as many as you would like to increase your chances. All entries will be drawn randomly and placed on the Square Board in sequential order as drawn. The 25th, 50th, 75th and 100th name drawn will automatically win a prize, then 3 random numbers will be drawn for the above listed prizes. Ticket sales will close at 12:00pm on November 17, 2022 and winners will be announced at 5:30 pm during our Livestream Winner Reveal on Thursday, November 17, 2022.

Gaming Permit #106023


We are looking for volunteers on November 18 and 19. We couldn’t put on a successful event without tremendous support from our volunteers, including set-up, registration, ushers, silent auction, spotters and more. Sign up to volunteer below.

Tsíná’ęę for your support! Contact Łot’oydaatlno Angela Gonzalez at [email protected] or phone at 907-677-1702 with any questions. 

Become a Sponsor or Purchase a Table or Seat(s)

The support of our community by organizations such as yours help us to prepare Native leaders to advance a collective vision of healthy, happy, thriving Native communities, build strong relationships across the state to strengthen the Alaska we all love, and ensure Alaskans see our homelands as a universally recognized and valued Native place.  

There are many ways for your organization to support our work through sponsorships fitted for your outreach and exposure goals and budget.  Our sponsorship packages include exciting new perks of advertising in our First Alaskans Magazine! Download the sponsorship package (PDF). We also have a website where you can purchase sponsorship packages directly Smokehouse Gala. Sponsorship packages offer a variety of exposures for your organizations, and we are always happy to discuss special arrangements as well.

Parents – $10,000

Sisters & Brothers – $5,000

Cousins – $2,500

Other – Under $2,500

Aleut Corporation


Howard Rock & Ted Stevens Smokehouse Gala Awardees

Howard Rock Alaska Native Leader

Marlene Johnson (Lingít) – 2012
Mary Jane Evans Fate (Athabascan) – 2013
Dr. Paul and Martina John (Yup’ik) – 2014
Eliza Jones (Koyukon) – 2015
Roy S. Ewan (Ahtna) – 2016
Poldine Carlo (Koyukon) – 2017
Emil Notti (Koyukon) – 2018
Nelson Angapak (Yup’ik) – 2019
Melanie Bahnke (St. Lawrence Island Yupik) – 2020
Yeidiklasókw, K̲aaháni Rosita Worl, Ph.D. (Tlingit) – 2021
Dr. Aveogan Oliver Leavitt (Iñupiaq) – 2022

First Alaskans Young Native Leader

Jason Metrokin (Unangax/Sugpiaq) – 2012
Evon Peter (Gwich’in/Koyukon) – 2013
Tanana 4-H Club (Athabascan) – 2014
Samuel Johns (Ahtna/Gwich’in) – 2015
Raina Thiele (Dena’ina/Yup’ik) – 2016
AlexAnna Salmon (Yup’ik) – 2017
Barbara Blake (Lingít/Haida/Ahtna) – 2018
Dr. Pearl Brower (Iñupiaq) – 2019
Dr. Lance Twitchell (Lingít) – 2020
Nicole Borromeo (Upper Kuskokwim Athabascan) – 2021
Vera Starbard, T’set Kwei (Lingít/Dena’ina) – 2022

Friends of First Alaskans Ted Stevens

Barney Gottstein – 2012
Diane Kaplan – 2013
Bill Van Ness – 2014
Bill Oberly – 2015
Gov. Bill Sheffield – 2015
Alyeska Pipeline Service Co. – 2016
Myra Munson – 2017
Lloyd Miller – 2018
Gov. Bill Walker – 2019
Dr. EJ R. David – 2020
Dr. Herb Illisaurri Schroeder – 2021
Dr. Rick Knecht – 2022

Special Tributes

Portugal. The Man – 2020
Indian Country Today – 2020
Molly of Denali – 2020
Congressman Don Young – 2022

Tsíná’ęę for supporting our work! Please contact our Indigenous Advancement Director, Cutmen Candace Branson at [email protected] or 907-677-1710 with any questions.