Home Alaska Native Policy Center Leadership Development Community Investments
  About Us  |  Census Information Center  |  Community Spotlight  |  Donate  |  Library  |  Links  |  Newsroom  |  Opportunities

First Alaskans Institute Board of Trustees

First Alaskans Institute is governed by an 9-member Board of Trustees, composed of current and past presidents, chairs, and co-chairs of the Alaska Federation of Natives, as well as other Alaska Native leaders. The Board of Trustees are:

willie hensley

Willie “Iggiagruk” Hensley – Chairman (Inupiaq)

Professor and Author

sam kito jr

Sam Kito, Jr., Vice Chair (Tlingit)

Owner, Kito, Inc.

 valerie davidson

Valerie Nurr’araaluk Davidson, Secretary/Treasurer (Yup’ik)

President, Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium

 sven haakenson jr

Sven Haakanson, Jr., PhD (Alutiiq/Sugpiat)

Curator of Native American Anthropology, Burke Museum
Assistant Professor, Anthropology, University of Washington

 albert kookesh

Albert Kookesh (Tlingit)

Former Alaska State Senator
Sealaska Corporation Board of Directors

 sylvia lange

Sylvia Lange (Tlingit and Aleut)

Owner, Cordova’s Reluctant Fisherman Hotel
Eyak Corporation Board of Directors

 oliver leavitt

Oliver Leavitt (Inupiaq)

Arctic Slope Regional Corporation

 georgianna lincoln

Georgianna Lincoln (Athabascan)

Doyon Ltd. Board of Directors
Former State Senator

 byron mallott

Byron I. Mallott (Tlingit)

Lieutenant Governor, State of Alaska


In Memoriam:

Morris Thompson (Athabascan)
Our Friend and Colleague